mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

how we got here

on January 13, 2014

May 18, 2001 my husband (Steven) 1st boyfriend, and I went on our first date. It was a pretty simple being that times were simple then. We went to Ponderosa, I didn’t eat but one plate, because I was nervous as all get out. {Ponderosa is my husbands ‘go-to’ restaurant in present day.}

We broke-up a year later.

June 2004, I graduated high school, and started Cosmetology school 11 days later. Cosmetology school went really fast, I worked two jobs and came home as much as I could. Especially when I needed to do laundry, the ‘laundry mat’ wasn’t my favorite place in the city. Steven and I continued to talk as much as we could, I knew he still liked me but wasn’t really sold I wanted to be with anyone at the time.

June 2005, I graduated Cosmetology school and moved back in to my parents house. Knowing it would be temporary I hurried up and landed a job in my field and a second part-time job working at a local convenience store, {Sheetz}. I worked everyday most weeks. But found myself hanging out with friends in my spare time, and Steven ended up being one of those friends.

He was enlisted to leave for the Navy Basic Training the next spring. We both wanted some freedom, and lets face it living with your parent’s and kid sibling isn’t the best deal when your an adult on your own schedule. July 19, 2005 we moved in to an apartment in a small town about 40 minutes from home. {Keep in mind we did this as friends.} Knowing that he as going to the Navy in months I knew that I needed to figure out how to pay for the apartment and be a big girl on my own, that’s what we did.

However, that’s not what ended up happening. Before Steven left for the Navy he asked me to marry him, yes marry, I was rolling around the idea that I may like/love him and was in some strange form of denial. And he asked me to marry him… I said Yes ! We told my parents right away, my dad wanted to know how many people we were going to invite to the wedding right away. LOL. When we told Steven’s parents, his Dad wanted to know if I was going to color my hair before the wedding. (It was a chilly red, yes that’s what I color tube at the salon I worked at said). I said that I was in fact planning on getting married with somewhat more of a natural looking color.

We sold Steven’s truck and planned a wedding in 6 short weeks. This included my mom making ALL the dresses. She’s good !

tobecontinued

2019816494164617120114

logo_461243_web

One response to “how we got here

  1. […] you catch my posts from Monday and Tuesday to see how we got to this point […]

Leave a Reply

