mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

5 Questions to Happiness

on January 11, 2014

When was the last time that you could say that you were completely happy with your life (or day?) Happy as defined on http://www.merriam-webster.com/: being happy is feeling pleasure and enjoyment because of your life, situation, etc. showing or causing feelings of pleasure and enjoyment or pleased or glad about a particular situation, event, etc.

Sometimes it’s hard to say we are truly happy. If I had to guess, genuine happiness is hard to find in a great number of the population. Being wife for 8 years, and mom for 2 does not make me an expert in the art of life happiness. However, I have a very wise Gram that (always) says life is what you make it.

So… Every time I start to get overwhelmed or unhappy with my situation (which happens often, I’m human you know), I have to stop and ask myself.

  1. Is this something I can control ?
    Chances are the answer is No, we human’s tend to get worked up over things that we in fact can’t do anything about. And anything we do to try to fix or stop our problem isn’t going to help or hurry our issue out of our beings. So you can move on, forget it and be happy.
  2. Is this something that is REALLY important ?
    Really, Really? Is it really important that your floors shine or there isn’t dust on that corner shelf in the dark when company comes over. If you want true happiness with in your life here’s my advice. Stop worrying about what other people think and start forming relationships with people just because they are who they are and you are who you are. People and good relationships make us happier people, not a clean house. So you can move on, forget it and be happy.
  3. Is this going to matter next week (or in 5 years) ?
    My mom used to ask me this, or forms of this in high school. Oh my so & so said this about me or I did this and then than happened. Yada Yada Yada, it’s all details that everyone’s going to forget come the next epic failure of mankind. There is really no point in worrying about this matter either. So you can move on, forget it and be happy.
  4. Is this really going to be worth it, or are you going to wake up with (more) regrets {in the morning} ?
    I remember, (not that long ago), when I would stay up till the wee hours of the morning cleaning and organizing my butt off just to have a perfect house or perfect recipe or perfect whatever, and everything would be just ‘PERFECT’ for the next day… Guess what ? NOTHING about your day is perfect when you stay up till 3 am and have to be up at 6:30/7 am, absolutely nothing.
    So here you are (and there I was), with another regret to live with. If you can’t live with just dealing with that never-ending (anyway) list in the morning without regrets then chances are there are bigger issues than what this blog post can deal with right now. {JK} Anyway, move on [got to bed], forget it and be happy.
    {Okay and I’m going to throw a little (more) mars in this post !!! Shhh don’t tell my mom, but this regret thing also goes for having fun/getting a little drunk (As some human’s do from time to time). If you wouldn’t do it when your sober why would you want to do it drunk? Life changing accidents happen when people are being stupid.}
  5. Is what you’re doing going to benefit your family/self ?
    This one is so complex I could probably type for an hour and not be done, but I will make it short and you can conclude for yourself what you may. Have you ever found yourself bending over backwards for something or someone that really isn’t appreciating it, or even worse just doing something that unwillingly is hindering your family life. You may or may not be able to change some of these things, but if you have the time and liberty to make a decision to only do the things that benefit you and your family to the best, (mentally, spiritually, physically, financially, etc) please do so and I promise you will be happier for it.

I know complete happiness is few and far between, but maybe you can start with a few good hours and build up to a good day, then a good week and who knows you might have a good month.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you enjoyed my manners and mars thoughts of the day !!

Proverbs 15:13-A happy heart makes the face cheerful,
but heartache crushes the spirit.

Leave a Reply

