mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

Whole Wheat Pancakes (Day 7)

on January 7, 2014

20140107-230716.jpg
I always struggle with what to make for dinner when it’s just Emmett and I, which is most of the time. I often go for simple Bisquick pancakes and E loves pancakes. I have been hunting excuses to use my Kitchen Aide Mixer, so I thought I would try a new recipe, one that was just a little healthier than the box mix. At only 87 calories per serving maybe I should say a lot.

20140107-230424.jpg

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, well beaten
2 cups milk
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

20140107-230545.jpg

Directions

Stir together dry ingredients.
Add eggs, milk, and oil.
Stir until dry ingredients are moistened (batter maybe lumpy). Add water (or milk) as needed.

Cook on preheated griddle until bubbles form and edges start to dry. Flip and cook until lightly browned.

Emmett of course loved them, and I was surprised to find that they were in fact 100% better than any pancake I’ve tasted to date. These will definitely be a keeper in our house, though next time I think I will see if I can get them to be thinner. I am looking forward to using my Kitchen Aide many times this week and might even try a whole wheat waffle recipe. Check out my old post on making waffles in bulk.

(Clearly, you don’t need a mixer for this recipe. I just wanted to break it in easy).

Leave a Reply

