mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

Who Do You Think You Are ? (part 1)

on November 10, 2013

You might feel the urge to click unfollow upon the reading of that title, but give me a minute. Remember this is mannersandmars, it’s normal to be all over the place.

Last week I had a very rare oppurtunity to go shopping alone, I may have taken it a little far. I ended up at the local buy-out store and I might have looked at every book they had. While I had reason, (I was looking for Joyce Meyer’s The Battlefield of the Mind-Study Guide), when I was done I had to laugh at myself.

20131108-204424.jpg ^ Caught my eye.

Not a bible study, but a very enlighting read. I’ve never seen so many life changing book reviews in my life, (though I don’t read the reviews all that much).
I thought it couldn’t hurt to take it home for only $3.99.

Finding time to read was another battle for a whole new post, but Emmett happens to be sick. We have done a lot of cuddling and this means knitting, tv, and reading in our house.

I just wanted to share some thoughts on the first chapter, “I AM ______.”

I find in interesting how Driscoll shows how you are to view yourself. If you were to ask me who I am, I would of said, I’m wife to Steven and mommy to Emmett. However, this is wrong.

Another fact I would like to share, (simply because I think it’s worth sharing)… I think we are all guilty of it at one point or another, you know when you become obsessed over one thing or another. So much that the thing becomes more important to you than God.

The last section in chapter 1 explains how to better understand idols.
Think of it like this:
I – Items
D – Duties
O – Others
L – Longings
S – Sufferings

Everyone has suffered an identity crisis in there life. I’m sure glad I stumbled across this book, because I can already tell you Mark Driscoll is a new favorite author.

I pray this post is a blessing to you and gets your mind turning. Maybe you’re even thinking about buying a copy of ‘Who Do You Think You Are Finding Your True Identity in Christ.’ If so, then I’ve done my job.

Thanks for visiting my blog today and have a blessed Sunday.

Leave a Reply

