mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

Living Free

on September 18, 2013

So it’s Tuesday and I’m told that most bible study posts come on Sunday, but this is ‘mannersandmars‘, where apparently even in my manners I’m slightly mars.

Our family has recently joined the church we have been attending for several months, and we’ve never been so happy. Other churches were just not home for both of us before. We are pleased to have found a church to call home, somewhere Emmett can grow up learning the word of God with friends from his class.

Click here to learn more about our new church.

I am a note-taker, so I’m thankful that Emmett goes to class, and I am not chasing him around the back of the church or stuck in a room without a speaker. Which by the way wouldn’t happen if he weren’t in class. This church is amazing and provides screens and sound through the church, so you are not to miss the service if you are caring for your little ones.

I’ve been going through some of my notes from Pastor Dan’s current series “Living FREE” and would like to share only some notes.

  • Jeremiah 29:11
    Jesus paid for our past and future. Why not walk in it?
  • Jeremiah 33:8
    No matter what you’ve done God has forgiven you. Forgive YOURSELF.
  • Psalms 34:18
    Pain keeps us from doing what we need and want to do.

This was the third week in his series FREE, and he spoke on the Baggage we carry around from our past.

1. Abandonment

2. Failure

3. Guilt

4. Shame

5. Pain

Each and everyone of us deal with most of these bags in some form or another. We just need to praise God that he is there to take it away from us, forever. All we have to do is lay it at his feet and leave it there.

I am enjoying going through my notes each week, and have started to attend the Wednesday Night Journey Group at the church. A study called Stronger.’ Tomorrow is our first official study in the book, and I can’t wait. Each days lesson has spoke to me and I can’t wait to see what the author and other women have to say about the session.

I feel the Lord is leading me to do more within the body of Christ and this is just the first step. So I hope you follow along my journey, and maybe start one yourself.

Leave a Reply

