mannersandmars

wife.mother..lover…friend.daughter..sister…crafter.reader..blogger…

Celebrating The Coming Bounty

on July 1, 2013

Growing up my parents always had a garden, of course, as their oldest child I was helper. I didn’t exactly love weeding or picking the harvest, especially beans.

Now I’m an adult and have a small child to feed and teach I am really starting to get into my garden.

When we bought our house in 2008 there was small patch on the side of our garage. I almost felt obligated to plant, being brought up with a garden.

Last summer I had my husband dig up some more land with a tractor he had borrowed. Needless to say we are going to have quite a bounty this year.

Today’s July 1st, I thought it appropriate to celebrate our successes from June 1st to today. It truly is amazing what can come from a few seeds in containers.

20130701-202455.jpgThe New Big Garden

20130701-202544.jpg
Spaghetti Squash Plants &
Petunia Flowers – No brainier, easy to keep if your interested in beautifying your outside word.

20130701-203530.jpg
Bulb Flowers Started in the Greenhouse This Year. I was so happy to see a bloom. 🙂
And new also this year a little row of beans. I guess people do really change.

Over all I am ecstatic with the progress that the gardens has made and can’t wait to start stuffing cabbage and peppers, snapping beans and making homemade chili with the yummy spaghetti squash & tomatoes.

20130701-204036.jpg
If you would like more information on starting your own seeds click here

Scared to try seeds?? Just buy the plants straight from a quality greenhouse in your area or a local farmers market.

For more information on when and how to plant bulbs, click the links.
I know I wasn’t totally confident at first and the Internet has so many great resources. I also love Pinterest for garden design ideas and much more. Feel free to follow me.

20130701-210916.jpg

Leave a Reply

